Kigoma Region
Figures for this region: economic output, the cost of the public offices serving it, and human development over many years.
These figures describe a place, not a person. The Human Development Index is built from decades of infrastructure, geography and historical investment - not from one MP's term. This page does not show, and cannot show, that any leader caused these figures.
Cost of public offices
Not yet published
There are 8 offices serving this region, but their statutory salary rates have not yet been entered from the Act.
Press-reported estimate: TZS 55.2 million to TZS 668.3 million per year (not official). These estimates are the region's MP count times the monthly pay range reported by Mywage.org (2024), times 12 months. MPs with no primary region are left out, so the regional sum falls short of the national total. Source
No Government Notice stating an MP's salary has been found. These figures differ and are unverified, and are not included in any total on this page.
Legal basis: the Ministers and Members of Parliament (Salaries and Allowances) Act (Cap 234) lets the President set an MP's salary by order published in the Gazette, and allowances in writing. The Act itself states no amounts. Read the Act
Disclaimer: these sources are news outlets, blogs and third-party sites, not Wanasiasa or the government. They use different periods and bases, and one has been denied by Parliament. Do not read them as the pay of any particular MP.
| Line item | Kiasi kilichoripotiwa | Kipindi | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly salary + constituency or special-seat allowance | TZS 12m + 6m | 2023 terms | The EastAfrican |
| Freeman Mbowe's claim: monthly salary (denied by Parliament) | TZS 18m (disputed) | March 2024 | Nipashe |
| Zitto Kabwe's statement: monthly salary + ubunge allowance | TZS 3.8m + 8m | 2015 | Udaku Specially (blogu) |
| Monthly pay range for most MPs | TZS 574,957 hadi 6,961,731 | 2024 | Mywage.org |
| Monthly salary + allowance | TZS 3.8m + 8m | around 2016 | Change.org (ombi) |
| Annual basic salary (two figures conflict) | TZS 27.6m au 92.4m | 2022 and later | IPU Parline |
| Gratuity for the five-year term | TZS 160m | not specified | The Citizen |
Have an actual figure from an official source (Government Gazette, Parliamentary Service Commission, Treasury)? Enter the figure and source or send a document. We verify it before publishing.
Regional output (not tax)
TZS 5.6 trillion
The value of goods and services produced in the region in 2024. This is NOT tax paid - no official source publishes tax by region. Provisional figures (NBS may still revise them).
Output per shilling of leadership
Cannot be calculated
Statutory salary figures have not yet been entered, so the cost side is zero and no ratio can be calculated.
Human Development Index (HDI)
The trend from 1990 to 2023. This trend starts 33 years back - before the current term of representation.
| Year | HDI |
|---|---|
| 1990 | 0.348 |
| 1991 | 0.349 |
| 1992 | 0.348 |
| 1993 | 0.355 |
| 1994 | 0.359 |
| 1995 | 0.364 |
| 1996 | 0.373 |
| 1997 | 0.379 |
| 1998 | 0.390 |
| 1999 | 0.400 |
| 2000 | 0.407 |
| 2001 | 0.413 |
| 2002 | 0.421 |
| 2003 | 0.430 |
| 2004 | 0.439 |
| 2005 | 0.447 |
| 2006 | 0.456 |
| 2007 | 0.464 |
| 2008 | 0.471 |
| 2009 | 0.477 |
| 2010 | 0.484 |
| 2011 | 0.488 |
| 2012 | 0.491 |
| 2013 | 0.493 |
| 2014 | 0.493 |
| 2015 | 0.493 |
| 2016 | 0.488 |
| 2017 | 0.490 |
| 2018 | 0.493 |
| 2019 | 0.497 |
| 2020 | 0.499 |
| 2021 | 0.489 |
| 2022 | 0.488 |
| 2023 | 0.490 |
The Human Development Index combines life expectancy, education and income. It reflects decades of infrastructure, geography and investment. It is not a measure of any individual representative's performance, and a change within one term cannot be attributed to one officeholder.
Regional economic output (GDP) at current market prices, as published by the National Bureau of Statistics. This is what a region PRODUCES, not what it pays in tax. No official source publishes tax collection by region. Output and tax diverge: a company headquartered in one region books its output there while operating nationwide.
Annual statutory compensation for officeholders representing this region, summed from published salary components. A constituency's cost is attributed wholly to its primary region and never split across regions, because no source supplies a basis for splitting. Where a constituency spans more than one region, the primary region is a recorded data-entry decision. Daily and one-time allowances are excluded because annualising them would require assuming a number of sitting days that the source does not state.
Method version: v1